Subscribe to a magazine

Superlift ProROCK Series Finale

Driver Side
Posted February 1, 2005

The Season Wrap-up at Couger Buttes

The 2004 Superlift ProROCK Series came to a close at the Johnson Valley OHV area in Lucerne Valley, California. The four-event series positioned competitors on demanding rock courses in California, New Mexico, and Utah before culminating in the finale at Couger Buttes, which revealed Mitch Guthrie, Joachim Schwiesow, and Jeff Mello as the 2004 ProROCK class champions.

A Sports in the Rough production, the Superlift ProROCK series attracted scads of spectators to the Couger Buttes area, which always proves to be a crowd favorite. With one impossible obstacle after another, the competitors persevered and displayed multiple feats of gravity to the crowd's delight. Breakage was ample, as were disappointments, as the rockcrawlers fought for the ProROCK crown. Superlift served as the title sponsor, with additional support from Drivetrain Direct, JP Offroad, Alcoa, KC HiLites, Black Diamond, 4 Wheel Parts Wholesalers, Rockcrusher Diffs, CTM, Ramsey Winch, All-Pro Off Road, and Tom Wood's Custom Drive Shafts. For information about the 2005 ProROCK series, contact www.sportsinthe

Trophy Class
(1) Campbell
(2) Nelson
(3) Guthrie
(4) Bundrant
(5) McClure
(6) Durham
(7) Papola
(8) Little

Super Stock Class
(1) Schwiesow
(2) Sisson
(3) Bulloch
(4) Brown
(5) Zimmerschmied

JP Offroad Modified Stock
(1) Everding
(2) Waggoner
(3) Mello
(4) Nesselhuf
(5) Crook
(6) Laurie

Trophy Class
(1) Guthrie
(2) Campbell
(3) Bundrant

Super Stock Class
(1) Schwiesow
(2) Bulloch
(3) Sisson

JP Offroad Modified Stock Class
(1) Mello
(2) Waggoner
(3) Everding


View Photo Gallery
  • Joel McClure of Xtreme Image Off Road piloted his Fabtech-sponsored rear-engine buggy to a Fifth Place finish in the Trophy class.

  • Joachim Schwiesow swept the Super Stock class and nabbed First Place for the series.

  • Grabbing First Place in the JP Offroad Modified Stock class gave Jody Everding the edge he needed to secure Third Place in the series standings.

  • After timing out on the final obstacle when his rock rig became wedged between the rocks, 2003 ProROCK Trophy-class champion Jon Bundrant of All-Pro Off Road fell to Fourth Place in the event and Third Place for the series. The disappointing defeat earned Jon the ProROCK Hard Luck Award.

  • A consistent crowd pleaser, Chris Durham never ceases to amaze us with his driving abilities. Rarely one to keep all four wheels on the ground at the same time, Chris displayed a wheelstand as he cleared a gate.

  • Jeff Mello established the series win in the JP Offroad Modified Stock class.

  • Chasing his 2003 Modified Stock championship reign, Cody Waggoner finished Second in the event and the series.

  • Taking time from his usual driving duties, Tracy Jordan of Rock Runner Racing tried out his spotting skills, guiding the way for Joachim Schwiesow.