Click for Coverage
Exclusive Content
Original Shows, Motorsports and Live Events
Try it free for 14 days
Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM
  • JP Magazine
  • Dirt Sports + Off-Road
  • 4-Wheel & Off-Road
  • Four Wheeler

The 2017 LOORRS Season Comes To A Thrilling Finish

Posted in Events on October 27, 2017
Share this

The Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing Season is officially over. This season has been hard fought, but in the end, there can only be one champion. All of the drivers did their best to be left standing on top of that podium and the result was some great racing.

The race everyone came out to see was the Pro 4 race between Kyle Leduc and Rob MacCachren. With a less than 10 point difference between the two, their racing sure didn’t disappoint. After picking up an extra point to increase his lead over MacCachren, Leduc choose to start the championship race at the back of the pack.

After a mandatory yellow which left MacCachren and Carl Renezeder on the side of the track, Leduc quickly picked his way through the remaining racers and ended the race on top of the podium for the 4th time in a row. Leduc is now a 5-time Pro 4 Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing champion.

The Prolite race wasn’t any less exciting. The talk of the season has been the battle between Jerett Brooks and Brock Heger. After Brooks finished Glen Helen’s Round 11, he sat comfortably in the points lead. For Heger to take the championship, Brooks would need to finish at least 10 positions behind him. While not impossible, the race wasn’t going to be easy.

Heger ended up securing first place. However Brooks finished third, which means he became a 2-time Prolite Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing Champion. The Pro Buggy battle between Darren Hardesty Jr. and Eliott Watson didn’t disappoint. Hardest is the defending Pro Buggy champion coming into this season. He’s been slowly increasing his point lead over Watson ever since the last round in Wheatland. By the end of the day, he secured his second Pro Buggy championship.

For the last seven years, you expected to see either the name MacCachren or Deegan up in lights. That all changed this year with Jeremy McGrath taking home the 2017 Pro 2 Championship. After consistently performing at the top of his game, McGrath came into the weekend with a comfortable lead. Sitting behind McGrath - Brian Deegan and Rob MacCachren.

Coming into this weekend, Brock Heger has already captured the Production 1000 UTV championship. Even so, there was plenty of great racing coming from these drivers. These drivers pushed their vehicles hard, resulting in some entertaining, albeit crash-ridden, racing. After several cautions, course restarts, and what seemed like a crash on every turn, Brandon Arthur took the class win, making it his third win this season.

After an exciting first day of racing, Sunday started off with a bang! During the opening ceremonies, a sincere and emotional speech given by Carl Renezeder was felt throughout the stands. After 120 wins and 9 championships across 19 years in the sport, Renezeder was retiring after the Lucas Oil Challenge Cup.

Jeremy McGrath (2) on route to his first Pro 2 Championship. Since starting his journey back in 2010, McGrath has put in the time and steadily progessed from “another mx guy racing trucks” to being in the hunt to now winning the 2017 LOORRS Pro2 Championship. We congratulate him on this, his latest in a long line of national championships.

While the Production 1000 UTV race wasn’t as ridden with crashes as Saturday’s was, it was definitely one for the books. After a hard fought battle, Mickey Thomas finished first with a $1,000 prize. Brock Heger finished second, earning $500, while $300 going to Brandon Arthur in third place.

The Pro Buggy race was just as fun to watch. While a few restarts, course cautions, and several racers being forced out of the race, Kevin McCullough ended up taking home the win and $10,000 in front of hometown fans. Eliott Watson came in second and took home $5,000, with Darren Hardesty Jr. earning $2,500 for his third place finish.

During the Pro Lite Champion Cup race, there was excitement after Hailie Deegan, daughter of seasoned Lucas Oil Off-Road racer Brian Deegan, ended up with a rear flat tire on lap ten, after nine hard fought laps. In the end, Brandon Arthur captured first place and a check for $10,000. Brock Heger took second and a check for $5,000 and Ronnie Anderson took a check for $2,500 and third place.

The last race of the season was probably the most exciting. The Pro 2 versus Pro 4 Lucas Oil Challenge Cup started with both fields taking a standing start. With almost a full lap ahead, it looked like Kyle LeDuc was going to pick up an easy lead. After a full course caution, any leads the Pro 2’s were given was quickly erased.

Kyle LeDuc celebrating his 5th championship win. This was no pushover year for LeDuc, but he again proved to be the Pro4 man to beat.

By the end of the restart lap, Rob MacCachren had taken the lead. After another caution and restart, Renezeder was unfortunately forced to drop out due to a mechanical issue after coming into some contact with RJ Anderson. By the end of the race, Kyle LeDuc emerged as a 4-time Lucas Oil Challenge Cup winner, taking home $30,000. RJ Anderson came in second with a $15,000, and $7,500 going to Doug Mittag for third place.

An amazing finish to two exciting and action-packed days of racing. It was a great send-off to this season’s Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing. We can’t wait to see what next year brings.

Brock Heger had to battle racers and to miss a whole wheel and hub during the race, but came through unscathed and with the 2017 LOORRS Production 1000 UTV Championship.
Celebrations ran high after Darren Hardesty Jr. won his 2nd consecutive Lucas Oil Pro Buggy Championship.
The last race on the schedule, White Horse Pass always has great racing as many of the championship titles were up for grabs and everyone wants to finish the season with a win.
After 19 successful seasons, Carl Renezeder is done, and the sport won’t be the same without him. Thank You Sir for all the great racing memories.
Always a fan favorite, modified carts put on a show for the season end, as Trey Gibbs took the win after a hectic race.
After a long back and forth season of racing, Jerett Brooks would go on to win the Pro Lite championship, besting Brock Heger.
Brandon Arthur on his way to another Challenge Cup victory in his MavTv Prolite vehicle.
The racing was fierce between Rob MacCachren and RJ Anderson all season as they finished 2 and 3 in Pro4 and 3 and 4 in Pro2.
After starting at the back, Kyle LeDuc battles his way up to the front, claiming his fifth championship title.
Lucky fans get to take home pieces of the carnage, some small and others larger than life!
Family time spent filling goody bags from all the free merchandise is the best! LOORRS is family fun at its best.
Like always, the season comes to an end with a packed house.
PhotosView Slideshow

Connect With Us

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to the Magazine

Browse Articles By Vehicle

See Results