Click for Coverage
Exclusive Content
Original Shows, Motorsports and Live Events
Try it free for 14 days
Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM
  • JP Magazine
  • Dirt Sports + Off-Road
  • 4-Wheel & Off-Road
  • Four Wheeler

Score Awards Held In San Diego - Dirt Sports 411

Posted in News on March 11, 2015
Share this
Photographers: Art Eugenio

King Shocks, Steven Eugenio, Gus Vildosola, Steve Covey and Tony Gera were among the big winners at the annual Score Awards Night gala at the Score Tech facility in El Cajon, California.

Score Off-Roadsman of the Year awards were presented in 11 categories along with the 22 winners of the Score Milestone Awards and the class and overall point champions of Roger Norman’s five-race 2014 Score World Desert Championship.

In front of an enthusiastic crowd of nearly 400 and a worldwide audience via a live webcast, the evening was also a celebration of 41 years of Score championship desert racing.

Mexico’s longtime Score racer and significant supporter Gus Vildosola of Mexicali, was selected as the Score Person of the Year for the first time in his long career.

King Shocks, the official shock of Score was honored as the 2014 Score Contingency company of the Year for the first time while Baja Pits was voted the Score Pit Support Team of the Year for the third time in the last six years.

The Score Off-Roadsman awards were determined for the fourth straight year by a public, online vote. Among the other honorees were the top point leaders from the 2014 Score World Desert Championship, the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series. Several thousand votes were cast during the voting window following the season-ending 47th Tecate Score Baja 1000 race this past November in Mexico.

With very tight voting in most categories, Tony Gera, Santa Cruz, California, was selected as the 2014 Score Rookie of the Year after his sterling season in the new Score Ironman class for solo motorcycle riders. Rodriguez won his class in the first four races of the season to win the class point championship.

Covey, the crew chief and corider for 2014 Score Trophy Truck and Score Overall season point champion Steven Eugenio and Galindo Motorsports, was voted the Score Mechanic of the Year for the first time.

“The year of 2014 was another memorable year in the history of Score International,” Norman added. “We witnessed a total of nearly 2,500 different drivers/codrivers and riders/co-riders who participated in our five spectacular races in Score World Desert Championship. For my wife, Elise, and I, this was our just our second year as the caretakers of this amazing international treasure we all know as Score International. We are committed to working with our racers to expand the reach of Score even further than it has achieved so far.”

Mike Julson, of Santee, California, a Score regular codriver in both Score Trophy Truck and the unlimited Class 1, saw his Jimco open-wheel desert race cars win the 2014 Score Original Buggy Chassis Manufacturer point championship for the 21st time and 20th straight.

Kevin Kroyer’s Kroyer Racing Engines of Las Vegas captured the 2014 Engine Builder point championship for the fifth straight year.

In the first year decided by points, Kawasaki won the Score Motorcycle Manufacturer of the Year Score Off-Roadsman award.

As it has for 29 years, the coveted Score Milestone Awards were presented to those drivers who finished all required miles of the 2014 Score World Desert Championship. A total of 22 racers completed all 2,315.8 required miles in the five-race 2014 Score World Desert Championship. It was the first time in Score history that all car, truck, UTV, motorcycle and ATV classes, pro and sportsman, were eligible for the award.

The evening included a colorful video/photographic tribute to the 2014 Score World Desert Championship produced by DirtLive HD and GetSome Photo.

Leading the parade of 2014 Score Desert Series point champions were the three overall titlists—Steven Eugenio, Carlsbad, California (Overall and Score Trophy Truck in the No. 7 Galindo Motorsports Chevy Silverado), Giovanni Spinali, Dulzura, California (Overall motorcycle and Class 40 on a Honda CRF450X), and Javier Robles Jr., Guadalupe Victoria, Mexico (Overall ATV and Pro ATV on a Honda TRX450R).

It was the first time for all three winners to earn Score Overall point titles in their respective divisions.

Connect With Us

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to the Magazine

Browse Articles By Vehicle

See Results